Live Webcast on November 13, 2013

Manufacturing Trends for Consumer Inertial MEMS

Yole Development’s free webcast will provide a market update and identify the major market drivers. Front-end and packaging evolutions will be discussed and a specific focus will be applied to the most promising new approaches. The webcast finishes with a more- in-depth discussion about sensors recently released on the market and which have already implemented new technologies.

Date:November 13, 2013 (8:00am San Francisco; 5:00pm Paris, 12:00am Tokyo)
Time:08:00 AM PDT
Location: live webcast
Registration:www.i-micronews.com

New Technologies for the Next-Generation Inertial MEMS

Laurent Robin, Activity Leader Inertial MEMS Devices & Technologies, Yole Développement

MEMS inertial sensors will achieve 11% growth in 2013, becoming a $4.0B market. This industry will enjoy continuous expansion in the future, as motion sensor shipments are currently booming. Although we see ongoing adoption in Automotive and an increasing interest in high-performance applications, the strongest wafer shipments’ driver is consumer applications.

To match these market drivers, component and die size are still being optimized, while combo approaches such as 6 and 9-axis sensors are becoming mainstream. Diverse technical solutions are being developed to optimize the front-end processing steps and the packaging of consumer inertial sensors. We also observe that disruptive approaches are being considered for the next generation of sensors, with new detection principles and new designs such as piezo detection, MEMS-compatible magnetometers, integration of nano structures, and more.

Advanced Packaging and Integration Techniques for Inertial MEMS

Robert Hergert, Senior Process Development Engineer, SUSS MicroTec

As MEMS inertial sensors become more prevalent in consumer applications there is a growing need to reduce package size and increase performance, while reducing overall production costs. In the back-end this is achieved through innovative wafer level packaging and integration techniques. Key technologies are wafer bonding and 2.5D/3D integration.

More Information